Monday, May 10, 2010
Vande Velde crashes, Millar moves up on hectic Giro stage
The Netherlands – Stage 3 of the Giro d’Italia was a day of highs and lows for the Garmin-Transitions team. It was another chaotic stage in The Netherlands, and for the second day in a row crashes played a role in the outcome.

Unfortunately for the team, its American GC leader Christian Vande Velde was forced to abandon the Giro following a crash for the second year in a row. Vande Velde went down in a crash about 35km from the finish of the flat, wind-blown 224km stage from Amsterdam to Middelburg.

Vande Velde, who was transported to the finish in an ambulance after the crash, said he believes he fractured his collarbone in the crash.

“It's really hard to take right now,” Vande Velde told “Especially before the team time trial. I was really motivated and really wanted to get Dave (Millar) into the pink jersey. They definitely still can do it but I really wanted to be a part of it."

Vande Velde was using the Giro to hone his form for the season’s main goal, the Tour de France in July.

The silver lining for the team was David Millar’s fine ride to move up to third overall, just 1 second behind race leader Alexandre Vinokourov. Millar finished in the front group with stage winner Wouter Weylandt of Belgium, putting himself in contention for the GC lead.

After a transfer day on Tuesday, the Giro resumes in Italy with Wednesday’s Stage 4 Team Time Trial. The Garmin-Tranistions team is considered one of the favorites on their Felt DA TT bikes, so Millar had a real shot at taking over the maglia rosa leader’s jersey.

May 8-30

Stage 3, Amsterdam-Middelburg 224km
1. Wouter Weylandt (Bel), Quick Step, 5:00:06
2. Graeme Brown (Aus), Rabobank, same time
3. Robert Forster (Ger), Milram, same time
4. Danilo Hondo (Ger), Lampre-Farnese Vini, same time
5. Adam Blythe (GB), HTC-Columbia, same time

Overall (after Stage 3)
1. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz), Astana, 10:07:18
2. Richie Porte (Aus), Saxo Bank, same time
3. David Millar (GB), Garmin-Transitions, at 0:01
4. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita), Liquigas-Doimo, at 0:05
5. Marcel Sieberg (Ger), HTC-Columbia, at 0:07